Commissioner of Agriculture Kent Leonhardt Congratulates First All-Female FFA Officer Team

CHARLESTON, W.Va. – Commissioner Kent Leonhardt released the following statement after the election of the state’s first all-female FFA state officer team:

“Congratulations to these young women who have made history in West Virginia. They should be proud that they are a part of a growing trend in agriculture as more and more women head up farms in the United States. These young women are the future of agriculture and I look forward to see what they can do for our state.”

“Women were officially allowed to join FFA in 1969. Since then, women have continued assume increasing leadership roles in agriculture. In West Virginia alone, 35 percent of our farmers are female. The future of agriculture is female especially in the Mountain State.”

The 2021-2022 West Virginia FFA State Officers:

Gabby Wolfe: State President
Kaitlyn Luikart: Vice President At-Large
Chloe Gilkerson: Southwestern Vice President
Allison Wickline: Southeastern Vice President
Shayla Bourn: State Secretary

The West Virginia Department of Agriculture protects plant, animal and human health through a variety of scientific, regulatory and consumer protection programs. The Commissioner of Agriculture is one of six statewide elected officials who sits on the Board of Public Works.