Paul Nay



Paul Nay was born on March 6, 1918, in Harrison County, West Virginia. He graduated from Undis High School at West Milford and attended College of Agriculture at West Virginia University.

He owned and operated a 440-acre dairy and general farming operation near Jane Lew from 1937 to 1978, when the farm was incorporated under subchapter S as a family corporation. Mr. Nay is a lifelong farmer and outstanding leader in his community, country, state, and nation; and for 23 years (1960-1983) was President of the West Virginia Farm Bureau which, under his leadership, grew to be known as the voice of agriculture in the State. During his tenure, the State Farm Bureau also grew in membership and is now the largest farm organization

in West Virginia. He was Director of the American Farm Bureau for ten years.

In earlier years, Mr. Nay was active in both 4-H and FFA and held many offices, including being State President of the FFA. He has served on the Board of Land Bank Association of Clarksburg since 1938 and has served many terms as President. In 1965, he was elected to the Board of the Farm Credit Banks of Baltimore, a position he held for 16 years. He has been a strong supporter of the West Virginia University College of Agriculture and Forestry and has served on its visiting committee for more than 20 years, as well as several years on the visiting committee of Jackson's Mill.

Mr. Nay was chairman of the Citizen's Committee on Administration of Justice in West Virginia that rewrote the Judicial Article of the State Constitution, which, as approved by the people, updated modernized the State's court system. He helped develop and made available farm record programs; he was instrumental in organizing both the West Virginia and American Agriculture Marketing Associations; he was President of the West Virginia Dairymen's Association; was recipient of the Regional Soil Conservation Farmer Award in 1960 and 1063; was awarded the Gamma Sigma Delta Outstanding Service Award in 1962; and won the State 4-H recognition award in 1967, among others.