division of agriculture banner and home link
Commercial Feed

Commercial feed includes all materials distributed for use as feed or for mixing in feed for animals other than man. The term "Commercial Feed" shall include the categories of feed ingredients, customer-formula feeds, pet foods, and specialty pet foods. Any feed that fits the definition of commercial feed must be registered and approved by the WV Department of Agriculture prior to distribution within the state.

Feed Exempted from Registration

Feed exempted from registration include unmixed or unprocessed whole seed when such whole or unprocessed seeds are not chemically changed or adulterated; unground hay, straw, stover, silage, cobs, husks, hulls, and raw meat when not mixed with other materials and not adulterated; customer-formula feed.

FORMS
Application to Register as Commercial Feed Manufacturer
Application for Registration of Commercial Feeds (Bulk and Packages >10lbs.)

CODE/RULE
West Virginia Commercial Feed Law 19-14
Commercial Feed Rule 61-5

 

Stored corn cobs
 

Large Package Commercial Feed

Products for commercial or wild animals shall be registered annually at the rate of $10.00 per product for label review.  Registrations expire annually on December 31 and must be applied for 15 days prior to expiration or will be subject to a late fee of $100.00.

FORMS
Registration Instructions
Application for Registration of Commercial Feeds (Bulk and Packages >10lbs.)

LINKS
FAQ

Inspection Fees

Each person holding a commercial feed manufacturing permit, commercial feed distributor permit, or large package commercial feed license shall file a semi-annual commercial feed report at the rate of $0.35 per ton and are due and payable January 31 and July 31 or are subject to a late penalty of 10 percent or $100.00 to those with no inspection fee due.

FORMS
Semi-Annual Commercial Feed Report

Feed Manufacturer

Anyone manufacturing a commercial feed or customer-formula feed in this state, except persons manufacturing feed for only his/her animals on his/her premises. The registration fee is $15.00 annually and expires December 31. All registrations must be applied for 15 days prior to expiration or will be subject to a late fee of $100.00.

FORMS
Application to Register as a Commercial Feed Manufacturer

Feed Distributor

Persons first distributing commercial feed into WV trade channels, except persons distributing pet food exclusively, persons holding a Commercial Feed Manufacturing Permit, any persons distributing only those feeds that they register. The registration fee is $10.00 annually and expires December 31. All registrations must be applied for 15 days prior to expiration or will be subject to a late fee of $100.00.

FORMS
Application to Register as a Commercial Feed Distributor

Actions Taken on Unregistered Products

The manufacturer will be notified of the violation and will be given a time period to register the products and pay the applicable fees. If the products are not registered within the time period they will be subject to a stop-sale/embargo order and will be removed from shelves in WV.


Contact:
304-558-2227
wvfeedreg@wvda.us

1900 Kanawha Boulevard, East State Capitol, Room E-28, Charleston, WV, 25305-0170 P: (304) 558-3550 F: (304) 558-2203

Privacy, Security and Accessibility | WV.gov | USA.gov | © 2018 State of West Virginia