
WEST VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE 
Administrative Services Division 

1900 Kanawha Boulevard East 
Charleston WV  25305-0190 

Phone: 304-558-2209 Fax:  304-558-2228 

**Mail overnight packages to:  281 Gus R. Douglass Lane, Building 7, Charleston WV 25312** 

APPLICATION FOR REGISTRATION OF PESTICIDE PRODUCTS 

In accordance with Section 5 of the Pesticide Control Act of 1990, application is hereby made for registration of the 
pesticide products listed below for the period ending December 31,                         .  Registrant must email one (1) label 
specimen and one (1) safety data sheet for each product to pesticidesproductlabels@wvda.us.  ALSTAR members do not 

have to submit labels.  Paper labels are not accepted.  Remittance of registration fees are to be made payable to the West 

Virginia Department of Agriculture in U. S. funds.  The registration fee is $150 per product. 

Enclosed is $   to cover registration for  products. 

SUBMITTED BY: 

Firm Name  (Please print) Attention: 

Address: 

City: State: Zip Code: 

Telephone: Fax: E-mail address:

Enter first 4 digits of WV number if you have products previously registered: EP-   or your WVPlants ID   . 

Product Name EPA Reg. No. “RU” For Office Use 

Only 
Yes No 

Fee: $150.00 

For office use: 

6696-9474

mailto:pesticidesproductlabels@wvda.us


WEST VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE 
Regulatory & Environmental Affairs Division 

Pesticide Regulatory Programs Unit 

1900 Kanawha Blvd., East 

Charleston, WV 25305-0190 

REGISTRATION OF PESTICIDE PRODUCTS 

The West Virginia Pesticide Control Act of 1990 requires all pesticides be registered that are 
manufactured, distributed, sold or offered for sale, used or offered for use within the state, or 
delivered for transportation or transported in intrastate commerce or between points within the state 
or through any point outside of the state. The term “pesticide” is defined as any substance or mixture 
of substances intended for preventing, destroying, repelling, or mitigating any undesirable insects, 
rodents, nematodes, fungi, weeds, and other forms of plant or animal life or viruses, except viruses 
on or in living man or other animals, or which the commissioner may declare to be a pest, or any 
substances intended for use as a plant regulator, defoliant, desiccant, or herbicide. 

A full copy of Section 5 of the Act is printed on the reverse side of this page. Please note there 
is no provision for exempting the state registration of products that come under Section 25(b) of 
FIFRA. All products meeting the definition of a pesticide as cited above are required to be registered 
in our state. 

Initial Registrations 

Use the form attached to this instruction sheet for the initial registration of new products with 
our state. Under the column “RU” please indicate if the product being registered is an EPA restricted 

use pesticide by checking the yes block. The current fee for pesticide registration is $150.00 per 
product. 

Renewal Registrations 

For the renewal of current registrations, a renewal application will accompany this form. To 
renew current products, leave the product as is or make the appropriate corrections to the name or 

registration number, and remit the $150.00 fee for each product re-registered. If a product is being 

discontinued, write “disc” in the status line. If a product is being dropped from registration, please 
draw a line through the product listing. If new products are being registered at the time of the 
renewal, use this form to register those new products.  

If you have any questions, regarding the registration of pesticide products in our state, please 
call our office at (304) 558-2209, fax at (304) 558-2228 or write to the address listed above. 



§19-16A-5. Registration of pesticides; fees; confidentiality of trade secrets.

(a) Every pesticide which is manufactured, distributed, sold or offered for sale, used or offered for use within
this state, or delivered for transportation or transported in intrastate commerce or between points within this
state through any point outside this state shall be registered in the office of the commissioner, and such
registration shall be renewed annually. The commissioner may register and permit the sale and use of any
pesticide which has been registered under the provisions of 7 U.S.C. § 136 et seq., as the same is in effect on
the effective date of this article: Provided, That such pesticides are subject to registration fees and all other
provisions of this article.

(b) Products which have the same formula, and are manufactured by the same person, the labeling of which
contain the same claims and which have designation identifying the products as the same pesticide may be
registered as a single pesticide without an additional fee.

(c) Within the discretion of the commissioner or his or her authorized representative, a change in labeling or
formulas of a pesticide may be made within the current period of registration, without requiring a new
registration of the product. The period of registration shall be for one year, commencing on the first day of
January and ending on the thirty-first day of December of each year.

(d) The registrant shall file with the commissioner a statement including:

(1) The name and address of the registrant and the name and address of the person whose name will
appear on the label, if other than the registrant; 

(2) The name of the pesticide;

(3) A complete copy of the labeling accompanying the pesticide and a statement of all claims to be
made for it including directions for use; and 

(4) If requested by the commissioner, a full description of the tests made and the results thereof upon
which the claims are based and the analytical method or methods employed in determining the percentage of 
each active ingredient listed on the label to be registered. In the case of renewal of registration, a statement is 
required only with respect to information which is different from that furnished when the pesticide was 
registered or last registered. 

(e) The registrant shall pay an annual fee as prescribed by rules promulgated hereunder for each brand and
grade of pesticide. The fees shall be deposited in the state treasury and to the credit of a special fund to be
used only for carrying out the provisions of this article, and shall be expended upon order of the commissioner
of agriculture, pursuant to section twenty-three of this article.

(f) The commissioner may require the submission of the complete formula of any pesticide. If it appears to the
commissioner that the composition of the item is such as to warrant the proposed claims for it and if the item
and its labeling and other material required to be submitted to comply with the requirements of this article, he or
she shall register the item.

(g) If it does not appear to the commissioner that the item is such as to warrant the proposed claims for it or if
the item and its labeling and other material required to be submitted do not comply with the provisions of this
article, he or she shall notify the registrant of the manner in which the item, labeling or other material required to
be submitted fails to comply with this article so as to afford the registrant an opportunity to make the necessary
corrections.

(h) The commissioner may not make public, information which, in his or her judgment, contains or relates to
trade secrets, commercial or financial information obtained from a person and privileged or confidential, except
that, when necessary to carry out the provisions of this article, information relating to formulas of products
acquired by authorization of this article may be revealed to any federal, state or local agency consultant and
may be revealed at a public hearing or in findings of fact issued by the commissioner when it is in the public's
best interest.

(i) The commissioner shall provide the necessary forms to register pesticides.


