

### West Virginia Department of Agriculture Produce Safety Program

Kent A. Leonhardt, Commissioner Joseph L. Hatton, Deputy Commissioner

# 2021 PRODUCE SAFETY RULE EXEMPTION APPLICATION

Every farm must apply annually to qualify for exemption. Farms that are not exempt may be inspected. To qualify for an exemption, your farm must meet and identify the requirement for one of the exemptions listed below.

### **REQUIREMENTS FOR BASIC EXEMPTION**

One of the following requirements must be met to qualify for a basic exemption. Choose only one

- **A.** Only grow produce that is rarely consumed raw, specifically the produce on the following exhaustive list: Asparagus, black beans, great Northern beans, kidney beans, lima beans, navy beans, pinto beans, beets, garden (roots and tops) beets, sugar beets cashews, sour cherries, chickpeas, cocoa beans, coffee beans, collards, sweet corn, cranberries, dates, dill (seeds and weed), eggplants, figs, ginger, hazelnuts, horseradish, lentils, okra, peanuts, pecans, peppermint, potatoes, pumpkins, mature southern field peas (such as black-eyed peas, cowpeas, crowder peas, purple hull peas, sea island peas, silver peas, and speckled peas), winter squash, sweet potatoes, and water chestnuts.
- **B.** Produce grown is used only for personal consumption or produced for consumption on the farm or another farm under the same management.
- **C.** During the previous 3-year period your average of all produce sales was less than \$28,625 (on a rolling basis)

### REQUIREMENTS FOR PROCESSING EXEMPTION

As required in the rule, other requirements must be met to justify this exemption.

Produce grown receives commercial processing that adequately reduces the presence of microorganisms of public health significance.

### **REQUIREMENTS FOR QUALIFIED EXEMPTION**

#### Both of the following requirements must be met.

A. During the previous 3-year period, annual food\* sales are less than \$572,499, and the amount of sales sold to qualified end-users exceeded the amount sold to all other buyers.

\*The term "food" means (1) articles used for food or drink for man or other animals, (2) chewing gum, and (3) articles used for components of any such article.

AND

B. You sell more than 50% of your annual food sales to qualified end-users (consumer of the food and/or a restaurant or retail food establishment) located in West Virginia or within 275 miles of your farm.



# West Virginia Department of Agriculture Produce Safety Program

Kent A. Leonhardt, Commissioner Joseph L. Hatton, Deputy Commissioner

# 2021 PRODUCE SAFETY RULE EXEMPTION APPLICATION

Applicant Na	me								
Farm Name									
Mailing Addr	ess								
Farm Addres	s								
Phone	Email								
County:									
_	nption your operation qualifies for based of								
Basic Exemption A	Basic Exemption B Basic	Exemption C	Processing Exemption	Qualified Exemption					
	ovisions of FDA Produce Rule, the ab ections and regulations under the Fo								
	-	-		-					
I/we further acknow Safety requirement	wledge that any of these Exemptions ts:	s does not prec	clude my firm/farm from th	e following Produce					
	tion and other applicable provisions		d Drug and Coordation Act						
<ul> <li>All adulteration and other applicable provisions under the Food, Drug and Cosmetics Act;</li> <li>All West Virginia Department of Agriculture Farmers Market regulations</li> </ul>									
Date of Affidavit pr	eparation/submission:								
	re:								
Applicants Title:	Date: _								
For more informat	ion, contact the WVDA at 304-558	2.2227 or prod	uce@wvda.us						
		-2221 01 <u>prou</u>							
Check here if your farm does not grow produce of any type. Check here if someone from your farm has attended a PSA Grower Training.									
	To File Affidavit: Email t		avda us						
	OR print and mail to: WVDA/Produce Exemption,								
	1900 Kanawha Blvd, E., Charleston, WV 25305.								
0	us R. Douglass Lane, Charleston, WV 25312	In accordance with federal	CUITURE.WV.gOV and state laws, the West Virginia Department of A ms and services on the basis of race, color, religi						
tele			ng blindness), medical condition, marital status, v						



# West Virginia Department of Agriculture Produce Safety Program

Kent A. Leonhardt, Commissioner Joseph L. Hatton, Deputy Commissioner

# **2021 EXEMPTION WORKSHEET**

Note: For farm use only; retain this for your records. File the summary affidavit form with the West Virginia Department of Agriculture.

#### Step 1.

a. Insert your total produce sales for 2018, 2019 and 2020 in the boxes below.

b. Add your total 2018, 2019 and 2020 together:



c. Divide "E (total produce sales for 3 years) by "3" for three-year value for 2018-2020

					DIV	IDED BY: "3	3" = \$				
E-Total produce sales for 3 years (above)						F-Avg. 3-year value					
Baseline Value for Cut-offs (2011)	Value in 2012	Value in 2013	Value in 2014	Value in 2015	Value in 2016	Value in 2017	Value in 2018	Value in 2019	Value in 2020	Average 3 Year Value for 2018 - 2020	
\$25,000	\$25,480	\$25,926	\$26,414	\$26,691	\$26,984	\$27,493	\$28,106	\$28,625	\$28,951	\$28,561	

If "F" is less than \*\$25,000, mark Basic Exemption C

If "F" is less than \$572,499, review the other requirements for Qualified Exemption

Baseline Value for Cut-offs (2011)	Value in 2012	Value in 2013	Value in 2014	Value in 2015	Value in 2016	Value in 2017	Value in 2018	Value in 2019	Value in 2020	Average 3 Year Value for 2018 - 2020
\$500,000	\$509,590	\$518,529	\$528,277	\$533,822	\$539,672	\$549,863	\$562,119	\$572,499	\$579,022	\$571,214