Any persons distributing agricultural, vegetable, tree and shrub seeds, or seed potatoes must be registered as a Seedsman.
West Virginia Seed Law 19-16
West Virginia Seed Law Rule 61-9
Application to Register as a Seedsman
Seed Inspection Fee
Each person holding a valid certificate of registration is required to pay a tonnage fee on seed sold in this state and shall report to the commissioner the net pounds or kilograms of seed distributed and sold by kind or variety, except for seed potatoes on a semi-annual basis. Each report is due before January 31 and July 31 of each year. The rate is $0.50 per 100 lbs.
Quarterly Seed Poundage Report
Seed Potato Inspection Fee
Persons distributing seed potatoes into WV trade channels first shall report to the commissioner the net pounds or kilograms of seed potatoes distributed during the first 6-months of the year. The rate is $0.35 per 100 lbs.
Seed Potato Distribution Report
Persons distributing vegetable seeds packaged in containers of 8 oz. or 226.8 grams or less and sold from display units are exempt
from reporting poundage and paying a poundage fee, provided that a seed stamp be purchased from the commissioner and placed in a conspicuous place on each display unit. The seed stamps are $10.00 per display unit.
Request for Seed Stamps